Candlelight vigil honors fallen Mo. officers

By Clinton Thomas
St. Joseph News-Press, Mo. 
BUCHANAN CO., Mo.— The Peace Officers Memorial at Civic Center Park was constructed nearly seven years ago to honor the law enforcement officers who died in the line of duty in Buchanan County.

Fifteen names and faces grace the bronze plaques on black marble standards, while nine spaces sit empty for future recognition.

The Fraternal Order of Police hosted a candlelight vigil Tuesday -- National Peace Officers Memorial Day -- to honor those 15 men. Buchanan County Sheriff Mike Strong closed the ceremony with a short statement that drew solemn nods from the assembled crowd.

Full story: ...
LexisNexis Copyright © 2013 LexisNexis, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.   
Terms and Conditions Privacy Policy
Back to previous page