logo for print

Boston police lauded for selfless acts

The Associated Press

BOSTON — Gov. Deval Patrick and Secretary of Public Safety Kevin M. Burke presented the 24th annual George L. Hannah Memorial Awards yesterday to 17 police officers who went above and beyond the call of duty.

The awards were handed out to officers who faced gunfire, helped people when they were off-duty and committed other selfless acts over the course of the last year.

More than 50 uniformed officers and troopers as well as several family members, police chiefs, elected officials and members of the public safety community attended the State House ceremony.

Officers honored included Steven Wadman, Joshua Fernandes and Kelly Botelho, who came under fire when they were shot at by a crazed gunman at a New Bedford strip club.

Boston police Detective Richard A. Walker was also cited for bravery and valor.

The officers hailed from Boston, Harwich, Melrose, Methuen, New Bedford, Orleans and the State Police and received a special tribute from the Massachusetts State Police Pipes and Drums.

The award was named after former police officer George L. Hannah, who was shot and killed in February 1983 after pulling over a car in Auburn.

Copyright Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Recommended for you

Join the discussion

Police Heroes

Sponsored by

Copyright © 2018 PoliceOne.com. All rights reserved.