logo for print

LWTS honorable mentions: The Congressional Badge of Bravery

Webster’s Dictionary defines bravery as the quality or state of being brave; having or showing courage. Courage is defined as the mental or moral strength to venture, persevere, and withstand danger, fear, or difficulty.

Every cop who straps on a gun belt and slings their butt into a squad car for eight hours a day, five days a week, has to have both bravery and courage to do the job.

Honorable Mentions goes out this month to the Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, Bureau of Justice Assistance for sponsoring an award that honors officers who have demonstrated both in the performance of their duties. The Congressional Badge of Bravery (CBOB) was created in 2008 by the Law Enforcement Congressional Badge of Bravery Act (Public Law 110-298).

The Congressional Badge of Bravery honors federal, state, local, and tribal officers who have:

1.) Sustained a physical injury while engaged in the lawful execution of duties, who were at personal risk at the time of the act, and performed an act characterized as bravery by the agency head who makes the nomination.

2.) Not been injured, but performed an act that placed the officer at risk of serious physical injury or death and is characterized as bravery by the agency head who makes the nomination.

The act of bravery must have occurred between January 1 and December 31, 2011. The annual CBOB is one of the few national awards that single out officers injured in the line of duty.

Nominations for this years’ honorees are due in less than a week... by February 15, 2012. An online application and more information can be found here.

Be certain your agency head knows about the award and that officers living with the sacrifice in your jurisdiction receive an appropriate nomination.

PoliceOne thanks the DOJ for recognizing the brave acts of officers and especially those living with an injury or disability.

About Honorable Mentions
This regular feature on PoliceOne serves as a way for the Living with the Sacrifice column to relate the inspirational stories I receive through your emails and recognize those who are supporting injured and disabled officers. Send me an email with your stories or nominations for an Honorable Mention in the Living with the Sacrifice column.

Qualifications for an honorable mention include:

1.) Any activity by an officer, department, agency, citizen, or family member that assists injured and disabled officers and/or their families
2.) An injured — currently or previously — or disabled officer who continues to protect and serve the community or their fellow injured and disabled officers

Recommended for you

Join the discussion

Police Heroes

Sponsored by

Copyright © 2018 PoliceOne.com. All rights reserved.