AG Barr announces nomination period for distinguished service award

The Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service in Policing will be awarded to three law enforcement officers who demonstrated active community engagement

WASHINGTON – Attorney General William Barr announced the fourth annual Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service in Policing, launching the nomination period for this award.  

The Attorney General’s Award recognizes individual state, local or tribal sworn, rank-and-file police officers and deputies for exceptional efforts in community policing.  The awarded officer, deputy or trooper will have demonstrated active engagement with the community in one of three areas: criminal investigations, field operations or innovations in policing.

“Law enforcement is the toughest job in America.  The challenges our officers face on a daily basis are more complex, more difficult, and more extensive than ever before,” said Attorney General William P. Barr.  “We are grateful for every man and woman in blue for their dedication and sacrifice.”

Within each category, an award will be given to law enforcement agencies serving small, medium, and large jurisdictions:

  • Small: Agencies serving populations of fewer than 50,000
  • Medium: Agencies serving populations of 50,000 to 250,000
  • Large: Agencies serving populations of more than 250,000

By distinguishing and rewarding these efforts, the department strives to promote and sustain its national commitment to policing and to advance proactive policing practices that are fair and effective.

With the Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service in Policing, the Office of the Attorney General recognizes that the nation’s more than 18,000 law enforcement agencies, individual officers, deputies, and troopers are working hard to keep our communities safe.

Recommended for you

Join the discussion

Copyright © 2020 All rights reserved.